Triple Chocolate Cream Cheese Drops

February 14, 2012 at 2:28 pm (All Things Wedding, Recipes)

Finished batch - Yay!!

This recipe was born out of desperation.  I decided to bake cookies for Amanda and Hengyi’s wedding today.  I thought I had all of my supplies to make chocolate/m&m cookies and chocolate/peanut butter cookies.  Alas, I only had four sticks of butter.  The recipes call for 2 ½ sticks each so I was one stick short.  My hair was washed and up in a turban and I was in my sweat clothes so heading to the store was out of the question.  I spied a block of cream cheese in the fridge and my wheels started turning.  I decided to make the peanut butter/chocolate cookies another day.  Here is my recipe for triple chocolate cream cheese drops.

Triple Chocolate Cream Cheese Drops

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ¾ cup of cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 8 ounces (one block) of cream cheese, softened
  • ½ stick of butter (4 tablespoons), softened
  • 2 cups of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 package of dark chocolate chips
  • 1 bar of white chocolate or bittersweet chocolate.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.  Beat cream cheese, butter and sugar in a large bowl until fluffy.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Beat well.  Gradually add flour mixture, beating well.  Stir in dark chocolate bits.  At this point,  I put the batter in the refrigerator so I could dry my hair.  I don’t know if that will help, but that’s what I did!!

Drop by rounded teaspoons (I made them smaller because I am baking tons and tons of cookies for the wedding.) ** Because I made them smaller, I rounded them into little balls… I coated the palms of my hands with cocoa powder and rolled little balls until the dough stuck and then I coated again.  It was one big mess, but easy to do.  Bake 8 to 9 minutes.  Do not over bake!  The cookies will be soft.  Allow them to cool slightly (until you see cracks in the dough) and then move them to a cooling rack.

I then melted 3 blocks of white chocolate and proceeded to burn it.  Do not do what I did.  I then took the other three blocks and carefully melted it.  I drizzled the white chocolate over the cookies, thus the “triple chocolate.”  There was not enough white chocolate so I melted some bittersweet chocolate and drizzled that on the cookies.  I guess you can call them “quadruple chocolate cream cheese drops.”  🙂

They are soft and yummy in the middle.

I didn’t take step photos because my kitchen is a mess and my hair was up in a towel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

