Why She Rides…

September 28, 2012 at 1:38 pm (Multiple Sclerosis)

To my mother – Melodye
Sweet Momma,
I can never thank you enough for teaching me the importance of perseverance. You embody character that has been sharpened by the trials and discouragements of Multiple Sclerosis.
I ride for you.
Amanda

Why I Ride:  

I’m riding because my mother-in-law has had MS for over 25 years, and this is one way to show my support and to raise awareness. Also because biking is fun.

Hengyi and Amanda

My daughter and her husband are riding in an MS fundraiser, City to Shore, this weekend.  Between the two of them they have raised over $1,500.00 to be used for the research for a cure for MS and for programs that help people who struggle with multiple sclerosis.  Hengyi rode last year for me.  I am overwhelmed to think that two people would love me enough to help in my fight.

Hengyi – 2011 ride

In my darkest moments, I remember how hard it was for both of my kids to grow up with a parent who was disabled.  They had to make many sacrifices — financial and social — because I couldn’t always DO what a parent was supposed to do.  The one thing I do know is that both of them have a “suck it up” attitude!!  Our household mantra was:  No excuses.  Life isn’t fair.  Suck it up. 

Amanda and Brent

My precious Amanda

Sweet Child of Mine – Brent

My darling hubby has stayed by my side through the good and the bad, the rich and the poor.  We were married in 1980 and he is still my first love <3.

My sweet man

Today is (another) bad day.  I have many things that I’d love to accomplish, but they must wait until later.  Soon, maybe even tomorrow,  I will be stepping back into the circle.  I look forward to a day when I can wake up, feel fabulous, and work on all of my projects just waiting in the wings.  Until then, I rest, sleep, and pray.

Thank you, Hengyi and Amanda, for riding for me, Miss Carol, and all of the people who silently struggle with multiple sclerosis.

1 Comment

  1. Danielle said,

    That’s a wonderful post and a wonderful thing they’re doing!

Leave a Reply

