The Road That Leads Home

July 19, 2013 at 1:20 pm (Musings...)

My precious Grammy died on July 24, 2009 at the age of 92.  She lived in Richland Woods, before her Alzheimer’s made it necessary to move her to a safer environment.  She was in the middle stages of that awful disease.  I’d go to see her at least once or twice a week.  She and I would watch Gaither Homecoming videos and sing along.  I brought her favorite snack, a vanilla milkshake.  We’d walk the long hallways.  At the end of the hallway on her floor there was a big window.  She’d look out of that window and say to me over and over again… “I think if I go down that road it will take me home.”

Grammy 1937 -- her senior year

Grammy — her senior year

“Home” to her was the Simmons farm where she grew up.  It didn’t matter that she was about 20 miles away from the farm, she was sure the road she saw would lead her home.  She never went home again, even though she and a few of her cronies broke out of the facility on two occasions!!!

The day my Aunt and Uncle had to take her to a more secure place, as I was standing there, weeping, she scootched over in the back seat and said, “Come on!!  We’re going for ice cream!!”  I wept the whole way home.

Grammy and me :-)

Grammy and me 🙂

A week or so ago, I had a conversation with one of my children.  This precious gift of mine was inconsolable because the road home seems so long.  Circumstances have made the path twisted, seemingly headed in the wrong direction.  I am blessed that both of my children are hard- working and able to make their way very successfully in this life, but being away from those who love you unconditionally can make some days long and lonely.

Stillness

Stillness

 

I encouraged by repeating over and over again…

“You are on your way home!”

“It won’t be long!!  You can make it home!!

“I believe in you!!”

“I love you!”

There's No Place Like Home

There’s No Place Like Home

 

“The ache for home lives in all of us, the safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned.”

~~Maya Angelou~~

3 Comments

  1. Gail said,

    After my daddy died I realized I could never go “home” again, but then I was reminded that this is not my home…this is where I live now and where I have my “stuff” but home is just over the horizon and once I’m there I will never have to leave.

  2. Rob Savering said,

    Mom I miss you so much

  3. Lillace Christianson said,

    Lifting you up in prayer…

Leave a Reply

