Find Joy In The Journey — Mixed Media Art

July 25, 2013 at 2:12 pm (Decorative Painting)

With a name like “Melodye Joy,” I’ve got to have joy… right???  To be honest, practicing JOY is harder some days than others, but I always start each day intending to be joyful.

I have had many people love me and support me throughout my journey with MS and TN.  I had a pile of cards and letters collecting dust.  I spent one afternoon going through all of the cards, cutting out special sayings, words, signatures and pictures and verses.

Inspired by Kelly Rae Roberts and Cotton Candy Girl’s workshop by Natasha May (which I took), I took a deep breath and made my first mixed media art piece.  I used Millie as my inspiration.  I used Heritage Mediums by David Jansen instead of Modge Podge or gesso.

I am so pleased with the results.  This is an extremely personal piece as I honor those who have helped me along my journey — You know who you are (if you look closely, your names will be on the piece).  May the Lord bless you for your encouragement to me.

My angel's wings are my Daddy and Momma

My angel’s wings are my Daddy and Momma

 

Darling DannyO, Amanda and Brent are Millie's head and neck

Darling DannyO, Amanda and Brent are Millie’s head and neck

 

The notes and verses and signatures as I laid them on the canvas

The notes and verses and signatures as I laid them on the canvas

I began to distress the background

I began to distress the background

Millie on tracing paper.

Millie on tracing paper.

Beginning the face...

Beginning the face…

 

I printed "Find Joy In the Journey"

I printed “Find Joy In the Journey”

Before the final distressing

Before the final distressing

 

The finished piece.

The finished piece.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

17 Comments

  1. Esther said,

    I must say this is my true favorite of anything you have ever done…I see you in it.

  2. Danielle said,

    Oh my goodness I LOVE this! I love the shot showing the cards and words pasted on before the distressing began. What a wonderful way to create a keepsake that means so much.

    I’m a fan of Kelly Rae Roberts too and I’d really like to try something like this. I’ve never done mixed media very much, especially unless it was an assignment. It seems to go agains my personality. 🙂 But I always love it when others do it!

    Really, this is inspiring on so many levels. Where did you hang it?

    • Melodye Olsavsky said,

      I haven’t decided where to hang it… right now it is on my easel in the living room. Because I am so OCD, the hard part was distressing it!! But the imperfections in it mirror my life, thus it is MY story 🙂

  3. Kayla said,

    Melodye, this is truly breath taking! At first sight, it is a beautiful piece, but to know that you saved and incorporated those letters is really something special (just like you)! love you xoxo

  4. Theresa in Mérida said,

    Oh, my, goodness. If this is your first piece you are destined for greatness as a multi-media artist! I am in awe of your talent. The best art is personal and makes the viewer feel something. It’s just beautiful.
    regards,
    Theresa

  5. Susie said,

    Oh Mel, that is simply beautiful! It’s unique and stands on its own.. You have gone beyond mere art… it gave me chills when I viewed it:)
    I love you!

  6. Kathleen said,

    Mrs. Olsavsky, I am a friend of Amanda’s from Maryland and saw her post on fb about your art. What a wonderful testimony to faith, family, and friends. It is absolutely beautiful. Blessings, Kathleen

  7. Sandra DeVaux said,

    This is so amazing!! You are amazing Melodye!

  8. Briana said,

    Truly stunning…not just the art but the grace given to its artist from the great Artist. What stands out to me when I look at this piece is the thought that you likely put it together in pain of some degree. As one who has had bouts of “chronic pain”, I am Inspired by your fight for joy and productivity.

  9. Brent’s Birthday Tribute to Me | Melodyejoy's Weblog said,

    […] slept in and enjoyed a delicious pot of coffee.  I worked on two painted pieces, one Millie piece I am calling “You’re A Masterpiece.”  I also took a long, refreshing […]

  10. Nikki said,

    What a wonderful idea. I like the transparency of your blue, allowing the other background items to show through. Thanks for sharing your journey! As someone who is living with an undiagnosed neurological illness, I try my best to live in spite of my pain, not around it.

Leave a Reply

