Sunshine Award Questionnaire

December 4, 2013 at 2:43 pm (Uncategorized)

My sweet friend, Tab, nominated me to answer some specific questions on my blog.  I met the Tab the day after her wedding some years ago (although she doesn’t remember). We became Internet friends even though we are in completely different stages in our lives; she is a young wife and momma and I am a post-menopausal wife and mother who has seriously neglected her blog.  Last month, as I was getting my hair colored, a woman sat down in the booth beside mine with green hair.  I must say it was the hair that I noticed first but then I saw that beautiful face and said to my hairdresser, “I think that is Tab!” She checked the appointment book and… It was TAB!!!  We had lots of laughs and completely held up our stylists’ work as we gabbed!!  The green hair is a long story but it involves TMNT and Halloween.

I am hanging with my Momma for a few hours so Daddy can hunt and I am making time to answer these questions.  My precious Momma has Alzheimer’s and, while she is doing really terrific, she needs constant company.  This fact of life has changed my life – and I am still adjusting to it.  I will blog about it in future posts.

sunshine-award

So… I am listening to my iTunes for inspiration as I answer Tab’s questions.

1.   What is the first thing you drink in the morning?

Coffee, cOffee, coFfee, cofFee, coffEe, coffeE, COFFEE!!  After I drink my 20 ounce mug of coffee, I switch to water.  Coffee is sweet nectar that God has graciously provided so that I can function.

2.   What is your favorite day of the week and why?

Sundays.  Because of my social anxiety, I cannot attend church right now.  Ten years ago, the answer would still have been Sunday but it would have been because I love to worship my Lord and Savior at EBC.

My darling DannyO and I usually sleep in (although I sleep in longer than he does).  He makes us French toast and eggs and we read the paper and watch the Gaither Gospel Hour on PBS and usually an old movie on AMC or TCM.  Of course, during NASCAR season, I watch the race.

3. What is your least favorite chore?

Unloading the dishwasher, which is sad, because I should be thankful to HAVE a dishwasher!!  I grew up with four sisters and there were lots and lots of dishes, which we always had to do… scrape, wash, dry, put away.

4. What are the biggest changes from your life today compared to five years ago?

Five years ago I was the accompanist for the Central Cambria School District.  I had to quit because I developed Trigeminal Neuralgia and was unable to work through the pain.  Also, my son, Brent moved away in 2009 and we became empty-nesters.  I always say that not only do I LOVE DannyO, but I really LIKE him!!  We have great fun, just the two of us. I am also officially through menopause (according to a blood test).  Now I am waiting for these darn hot flashes to stop!!

5. What category of pins do you like best? (food, nail art, crafts, etc)

Vintage Fashion, Art (any kind), Shoes, and Creative Inspirations

6. If you had 60 minutes all to yourself in the middle of the day today, what would you do?

Since I am an empty-nester and a hermit I DO HAVE 60 minutes to myself every day.  However, with my crazy brain, it is hard for me to stop and breathe.  I’d have to say I love to go into my art room, put on some music, and paint.  Right now I have a landscape on my easel that needs finished and another Millie piece to finalize.

7. What was the last movie/video/commercial (damn you, Carters) that made you cry?

The last thing that made me cry was a video of a little boy with downs syndrome.  A sweet dog was working hard to make friends with him.  Yep… I wept.  When I watched it a second time, I wept.

8. If you had the time and money to study something in depth for 6 months, what would you want to learn?

I would go to the Parson’s School of design and study fashion.  I’d love to know how to drape fabric and make my own sewing patterns.

9. What are three things you took for granted today?

Hmmmm… this is a hard one.  I went to the garage and started my vehicle with no thought that it wouldn’t start.  We are blessed to have a working car (I couldn’t always say that).

I ran some errands and used my debit card with no thought that we had money in our account to pay for my purchases.  When Dan and I were first married we were dirt poor and floated checks left and right.  We are blessed in that Danny has a job and works hard and we can have “things.” 

As I am typing this, a Richard Smallwood song is playing, “Center of My Joy.”  I take for granted that I have a God who loves me unconditionally and who cares about me, my pain, my sorrows, my joys. 

10. What is your favorite personality trait about yourself?

I should ask my daughter this question.  This is a hard question.  I don’t self-evaluate very much so I will answer this way:  I am an oldest child.  I am a rule-follower, an organizer.  I am loyal.  I follow through on commitments. My sisters would say I am serious but focused. I always give my best effort.  I am never the life of the party but I can laugh at myself.

Well, Tab, I hope I did good 🙂 .  My Momma is napping and her dog, Daisy-doodle, is sprawled out at my feet.  The sun is shining and I am feeling blessed.

I am going to ask my sister, Esther to answer these questions too.  Tab is a blogger extraordinaire and knows 10 people who can do this.  I, however, am a true hermit so I don’t have as many blogger friends 🙂 .

Esther…  Brownswissmomma if you have time!!

Here’s how it works:
1. Include the logo in your post (at the top)
2. Link up to the blogger who nominated you
3. Answer the 10 questions below about yourself that Tab created 🙂 (I thought they were great questions so I didn’t change them!)
4. You nominate 10 other bloggers
5. And tell those bloggers about their nomination

My 10 Questions for my nominees:
1. What is the first thing you drink in the morning?
2. What is your favorite day of the week and why?
3. What is your least favorite chore?
4. What are the biggest changes from your life today compared to five years ago?
5. What category of pins do you like best? (food, nail art, crafts, etc)
6. If you had 60 minutes all to yourself in the middle of the day today, what would you do?
7. What was the last movie/video/commercial that made you cry?
8. If you had the time and money to study something in depth for 6 months, what would you want to learn?
9. What are three things you took for granted today?
10. What is your favorite personality trait about yourself?

1 Comment

  1. studerteam said,

    aww, I loved reading your answers, Melodye! Thanks for playing along! I’m confident in saying that the next time we see each other, I should have green hair! hahha. sending love your way xxxox

Leave a Reply

