Six Realistic Goals for 2014

January 5, 2014 at 3:15 pm (Musings...)

I have already explained in many blog posts that I do not make New Year’s resolutions.  Doing so creates such stress in my crazy brain.  Besides, who really actually completes resolutions??

However, I was (once again) inspired by my young friend, Tab, as she blogged about her goals for 2014.  I decided to make some resolutions goals for 2014.  They are very realistic and, with just a little effort, I will successfully complete these goals.  Here is my list (explanations to follow).

  1.  Incorporate three hours of exercise into each week and continue my nearly vegetarian diet.
  2. Work through The One Year Book of Hope by Nancy Guthrie.
  3. De-clutter our home.
  4. Complete one piece each month… one sewn piece, one jewelry piece and one painting
  5. Continue to work through my social anxiety…
  6. Have coffee with Tab one time in 2014  🙂

The first goal is physical:  Incorporate three hours of exercise into each week and continue my nearly vegetarian diet.  Notice I didn’t say “lose 10-12 pounds!” I used to exercise, lift weights, walk, water aerobics, cross-country ski, yoga, something, anything, at least three times a week.  I had a routine and was in great shape as I continued to battle MS.  But I was derailed when I developed trigeminal neuralgia.  Any type of hard exercise began to trigger TN pain.  Since 2009 it has been nearly impossible to exercise because I know that pain will follow.  I just stopped doing it.  Fast forward to January 2014; I am in the worse shape of my life.  I know how to exercise.  I have an elliptical, a Pilate’s band system, free weights, and yoga DVDs.  What I must do is consistently put one foot in front of the other and just do it, no matter how I feel.  I can work around my physical limitations, but I must power through the pain – the most difficult thing to do!!!  Three hours seems reasonable – it can be 30 minutes 6 times or one hour three times each week… but I must or I will soon lose all of my muscle tone (it’s almost gone right now!!!).

I will also continue to eat nearly a vegetarian diet.  I must admit that through Thanksgiving to Christmas I fell off the wagon and pretty much ate everything in sight – my body responded by gaining five pounds!!  I will also incorporate smoothies with flax seed as one meal for each day.  Again, I know what to do.  It is just a matter of doing it!!

six realistic goals for 2014

The second goal is spiritual:  Work through The One Year Book of Hope by Nancy Guthrie.  I am consistent when it comes to Bible reading and prayer.  I pray constantly through the day (called Practicing the Presence of God) and have devotions most every day of the week.  However, this book was recommended to me and I started it but never finished it.  My spirit needs renewed and since I am still not attending church on a regular basis, I need to have a “series” of sermons.  I will share with you as the Lord speaks to me this year.

One of my favorite pair of shoes :-D

One of my favorite pair of shoes 😀

The third goal is environmental:  De-clutter our home (again). In 2000, when Amanda went to college, I de-cluttered our home.  It took almost six months, mostly because there was 20 years of accumulated “stuff.”  We have never really moved as we lived in a trailer on our property until we built our home… we moved 30 yards!!!  Now, 14 years later, I am starting to feel “brain clutter” because of all the accumulated “stuff.”  I don’t have a plan for this because much depends on how I feel, but I plan to take one room, one closet, one drawer at a time.  I will be brutal until I am surrounded by only things that make me happy… except for my shoes!!!  I can’t get rid of my shoes!!!

A jacket I made several years ago.

A jacket I made several years ago.

The fourth goal is creative:  Complete one piece each month… one sewn piece, one jewelry piece and one painting.  I need to create!! I also need a plan (the OCD in me).  I have lots of fabric, lots of patterns and a wonderful sewing machine and an overlock machine.  I am going to teach myself how to use the overlock machine and sew one article of clothing or accessory each month.

SABIKA Jewelry

SABIKA Jewelry

I have been admiring the jewelry by Sabika.  However, it is cost prohibitive and I know I can make it myself.  Perhaps if I get good at it, I will sell some pieces.

"Bonnie's Necklace"  I created this for a lady, using her grandmother's, mother's and aunt's jewelry.

“Bonnie’s Necklace” I created this for a lady, using her grandmother’s, mother’s and aunt’s jewelry.

I also want to develop “Millie” some more.  I’ve got lots of  ideas!  My daughter gave me a gift subscription to “Cloth-Paper-Scissors” magazine (admittedly I gave her the very strong hint), a mixed media magazine, which has so many cutting edge ideas.

"Psalm 139"

“Psalm 139”

A table I painted several years ago.

A table I painted several years ago.

I also want to paint some traditional pieces – I have some pieces prepped, all ready to go!!

Six realistic goals for 2014-3

The fifth goal is self-care:  Continue to work through my social anxiety.  I won’t go into detail on this one. Suffice it to say, I need to get back to church and I need to be less afraid as I journey to see my children and accomplish the ordinary tasks of each day. The ordinary becomes nearly impossible when I am having a panic attack.

Six realistic goals for 2014-4

The sixth goal is social, even though it is a teeny tiny goal… Have coffee with Tab one time in 2014.  She inspires me with her fearlessness and I just want to sit and laugh with her.

There you have it… six resolutions goals that I have memorialized on my blog.  Yikes!!!  I’d better get moving!!!

3 Comments

  1. danielle said,

    Wonderful goals. Praying for your new year!

    • Melodye said,

      Danielle, thank you!! It was you who recommended the devotional book. I am stuck and need to work through it.

      May you have a blessed 2014! Enjoy your kiddos. They grow up so fast!!

  2. studerteam said,

    I love them all! That necklace is absolutely gorgeous and such a meaningful piece too! And obviously, my favorite goal is #6! 🙂 xxox

Leave a Reply

