A Blog About Simple Blessings

January 12, 2014 at 4:21 pm (Multiple Sclerosis, Musings..., Trigeminal Neuralgia)

I am sitting here with darling DannyO.  It is 12:48 on a Sunday afternoon. There are two football playoff games on today.  Yesterday I  “undecorated” our Christmas tree.  It took all day – as long as it took to decorate it!!  I knew I would pay for the long day, and I am paying… in spades!!  My trigeminal neuralgia has paid a visit and my back is spasming.  This is not a blog about my aches and pains, but a blog about blessing.

Our tree -- in the day and at night

Our tree — in the day and at night

Our tree... in the day and at night

Our tree… in the day and at night

My "undecorated" living room -- It feels decluttered!!

My “undecorated” living room — It feels decluttered!!

I read some fabulous blogs – their authors seem to have boundless energy and creativity. These women seem to have tapped into a force I am not aware of, because how else could they create such perfection in an imperfect world without magic!!!  My days are mostly filled with figuring out how to make supper, do laundry, sweep the floor without falling flat on my face, either from vertigo or uncooperative legs.  My brain is filled with so many ideas, but my body betrays me.

One way I keep going is by reminding myself of Scripture… I always seem to recall the perfect verse for my situation (thanks to many years of Bible School, SMM, church camp, at which verse memorization was emphasized).  One of my new friends on a Facebook page for fierce women who battle MS, Debbie, wrote this wonderful reminder.

A Blog About Simple Blessings-6

The part of these verses that truly are the reason I get out of bed every day is the part of this Scripture that promises, “They are NEW every morning.” His compassions are new every morning.  HE knows the number of hairs on my head.  He is interested in me.  “Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you.” 1 Peter 5:7.  I memorized it as a child in the King James Version and I like it best this way.

This morning I read a Facebook post from a man who is a missionary to the Central African Republic.  He said, “SAD SAD news…..The Boulata Grace Brethren Church in Bangui is burning as I write this. There are between 1000 and 1500 members in this church. There have been a number of Mosques burned in the past weeks and now there is revenge being applied. Dear God please protect your people, we pray this in Jesus Name.”

I am safe in my house today.  I am blessed.

The bank called at 9:00 a.m., stating that one of our bank accounts had a transaction that they were questioning – giving us the opportunity to double-check it.  We are blessed.

I was able to make a wonderful pot of coffee and ate exactly what I wanted for breakfast.  I am blessed.

Our house is warm thanks to the efforts of my darling DannyO. Wood makes the warmest heat.  We are blessed.

I am able to focus my eyes and move my fingers to write this blog.  I am blessed.

I have a heated rice bag lying on the right side of my face, helping me to fight the TN pain.  I am blessed.

I was able to afford the pain medicine (the big guns as I like to call them) that I need to help fight my TN pain.  I am blessed.

The water in my glass is cold (thanks to electricity) and sweet tasting (thanks to a Brita water filter).  I am blessed.

The man who has loved me for 34 years is sitting beside me.  We have laughed and cried this morning (we watched the movie Marley And Me). I am blessed.

I made the prettiest pink bracelet yesterday — Swarovski crystals and pink and everything!!  I am blessed.

A Blog About Simple Blessings-4

It’s the simple blessings in life that makes life really worth living.

I AM INDEED BLESSED.  How about you???

3 Comments

  1. Lillace Christianson said,

    I can certainly relate to all of this. Fibromyalgia, among other things, has given me a perspective of life I would not have otherwise had. I, too, am so blessed in large and small ways, and the “loving-kindness” of the Lord is with me always. Makes us want to spread it around, doesn’t it? Prayers going up for you.

  2. LOIS MATTHEWS COLETTI said,

    Hi, I’m Lois and I also have MS (secondary progressive) and TN in the left side of my face. I’ve had two glycerol rhizotomies and the second one left my face numb and my eyeball so numb that it makes no tears. I have to add drops four times a day. The TN didn’t go away so I still have to take Tegretol, gabapentin (Neurontin generic) and lamotrigine. At least I’ve gotten used to the drugs and the side effects are negligible at this point. But, I also have some breakthrough pain.

    I was interested to see that you also have sung in a church choir. I dropped out of mine due to the TN pain, but now I’m trying to go back. FIrst rehearsal is Feb. 12. I’ll soon see if I can sing without too much pain.

    I’m also blessed with many creative outlets. I paint and write poetry. I’m impressed that you can handle the tiny beads and makes such beautiful jewelry. My fingers are too numb to be able to do that. I’d drop the beads and be unable to string them. But I do what I can with the painting.

    If you are on Facebook, I’d like to add you as a friend. Let me know, OK?
    Lois Matthews Coletti

    • Melodye Olsavsky said,

      Lois, thank you for your comment. I would be happy to FB friend you. I am there under my name, Melodye Olsavsky.

      I cannot do tiny beads easily and can usually only work on jewelry when I am fresh and awake. I can control the tremors when I slip into my creative brain.

      The TN pain is my undoing. I don’t know if I can sing again. The vibrations from vibrato triggers TN pain. My voice also has been ravaged by MS… but I move forward, always (hopefully) with JOY

      I will look for you on Facebook 🙂

      Melodye

Leave a Reply

