Solumedrol Treatment and MS Awareness Month

March 18, 2014 at 3:06 pm (Multiple Sclerosis)

I used to blog more regularly, but always wondered if people really wanted to hear about all the bad days I was having, so I got out of the habit.  I miss blogging.   When I write, I can really “think through” the issues I am dealing with and sometimes actually come up with solutions.  🙂

My multiple sclerosis has been galloping along at a breakneck speed.  If I think hard, I will recognize why… First, I have had MS for 24 years, and MS is mostly a progressive disease and sometimes it gallops.  The situations with my Mom and Dad were also stressful last year, beginning in May when Daddy dislocated his ankle and broke both bones in his leg.  Then my Momma had her acute issue in October.  Thanksgiving and Christmas came… all through it, I was hanging on for dear life, spinning plates in the air.  It was inevitable that the proverbial spinning would end in catastrophe.  My body fell apart.  My balance was so bad that I needed a rollator for walking (unless I can hang on to a grocery cart).  My eyesight was both blurry and unfocused – two completely different issues, but when they occur at the same time, bad things happen.  Indescribable fatigue was the norm rather than the exception.   Of course, my trigeminal neuralgia continues to be off the charts painful.  I could no longer ignore the signs and symptoms.  I called my neurologist and scheduled a solumedrol treatment (steroids).

The last time I had solumedrol (1998 or 1999), I was hospitalized for seven days, with five days of IV’s.  This time, a visiting nurse came to my house each afternoon and hooked up the medicine and sat with me while the bottle drained.  I am so happy that I could stay home.  That meant I could use my own bathroom, drink my own coffee, sleep in my own bed.  Amanda has the ability to work from home so she drove up on day four (Thursday).  She willingly and happily did all of the chores, cooked all of the meals and kept me company.  Have I mentioned that I love my daughter??

The treatments were uneventful until Thursday afternoon when I noticed that my throat was closing and I had the feeling that someone was sitting on my chest.  I tried not to panic and my nurse, Linette, talked me through it.  She slowed down the drip and I took two Benedryl.  Linette is the Mom of one of my former students and we spent some wonderful hours getting to know each other and solving life’s problems (isn’t that what all women do when they get together???).

On Friday, I had a different nurse, Katie.  She is Brent’s age, an ICU nurse who works as a visiting nurse part-time.  She was so sweet and I felt safe in her hands.  Again, my throat and chest closed.  She found the epi-pen and had it at the ready just in case.  Fortunately I didn’t need it.

After five days of steroids, my face and belly are puffy and I have a metallic taste in my mouth. I pre-treated with protonics, but my stomach ulcers are protesting.   Nothing tastes good, even coffee!!  I had forgotten how hard it was to get this treatment.  My skin feels dry and leathery.  My hair is straw-like.  I am unable to laser focus (something I excel at) but the nurse told me that is a side-effect.  I just have an “unsettled” feeling.   I have “creepy-crawlies” all over my body – think spiders crawling over you… Yikes!!!!  And my face (TN) has no change at all.  It will be a few weeks before I will know if the treatment helped.

March is MS Awareness Month and the “color” that represents MS is orange.  I am not an orangey girl, but I had to make a few pieces of jewelry to commemorate and honor those (including me) who are fighting so hard.  The first two pieces are made from beads I bought at an auction – they were strung together in a necklace.  I would say the necklace dated from the 1950’s early 1960’s.

I love this bracelet -- I used an elastic cord.

I love this bracelet — I used an elastic cord.

 

The second bracelet is just a simple design and I used random beads from my (very very big) stash!

Butterflies... :-)

Butterflies… 🙂

 

The third set, the necklace and earrings, is a design I came up with during one of my insomnia nights.  I wanted to (of course) use orange but accent with another color.  The green-blue perfectly sets the orange teardrops.  I LOVE this necklace!!

Green-blue for the accent

Green-blue for the accent

Hand-bent clasp

Hand-bent clasp

I have a watercolor ready to go – orange themed – poppies.  I am going to calligraphy “Be Brave” on the piece.  I want to finish it by the end of the month, but my body isn’t cooperating. I will make no promises.  But it’s going to be beautiful.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Esther said,

    I also love the one with the green-blue! So pretty and delicate. You are right watching you struggle with MS sucks too.

  2. Catherine said,

    Your jewelry is beautiful! Your positive attitude is infectious! Perhaps BalanceWear Weighted Torso Vest could be of benefit for your balance issues. I know it is for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

