Pepperoni-Mushroom Stromboli

March 20, 2014 at 1:27 pm (Recipes)

This is for Katie Gregg – she is married now, but in my mind, she will always be “Katie Gregg.”  🙂

I got a free book for my Kindle through bookbub.com, The Art of Perfect Bread Baking.  I have made a few of the recipes, including the cinnamon rolls — they are fabulous!! Another day… another blog post…

Have I mentioned lately that I love my Kindle??? :-)

Have I mentioned lately that I love my Kindle??? 🙂

It has some wonderful recipes in it.  I perfected this recipe, molding it to work with our preferences.  One of the tricks is to not use too much sauce.  Another trick is to never over-work the dough!!  That’s why I like using my Kitchen Aid – it mixes without over-doing it!!

I am going to be very specific in my instructions, partly to help the young ladies who read this and don’t have much cooking experience.  I also bolded the ingredients in the instructions so you can, at a glance, see what order they go.   I promise you, it is easy!!!  I didn’t intend to blog the recipe so I didn’t take any pictures.  My plan is to, when I make it again, take pictures and then edit this blog post to include the pictures.

I used my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook attached for the dough.  It makes quick work of kneading.  If you don’t have a Kitchen Aid, you will need to knead the dough for about 8 minutes before the first rising.

Pepperoni-Mushroom Stromboli

Tools:

Kitchen Aid mixer with a dough hook

Pizza stone

Ingredients:

Dough:

1 ½ teaspoons active dry yeast

¼ cup lukewarm water

1 ½ tablespoons olive oil

½ cup cold water

1 2/3 cups unbleached or all-purpose flour plus more for kneading (only a teeny bit more if you are using the Kitchen Aid)

¾ teaspoon salt

Filling:

8 ounces crimini mushrooms (you can use any type you’d like), sliced

1 tablespoon butter or olive oil

Pizza sauce (I like Classico Fire Roasted Pizza Sauce)

15-20 slices of pepperoni

2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Oven will be set at 450-475.  Set a pizza stone in the oven while it preheats

 

About 1 ½ hours before serving…

  • Prepare cold water… add a few ice cubes to ½ cup cold water
  • Hand whisk 1 ½ teaspoons of yeast into ¼ cup lukewarm water.  Let sit for 10 minutes
  • Re-measure ½ cup cold water, eliminating the ice cubes. Hand whisk in olive oil and cold water
  •  Add ½ cup flour and ¾ teaspoon salt.   Hand whisk until smooth
  • Attach dough hook to Kitchen Aid.
  • With mixer going, add remaining flour, ½ cup at a time, 1 2/3 cups total, until the dough comes together in a rough mass.  You will have to scrape down the sides a few times.
  • At this point, scrape the dough hook off.  This will be the “kneading” time.  Knead at Speed “2” for three minutes. (if you do this by hand, turn dough out on to a floured surface and knead for 8 minutes)
  • Hand form the dough, coating it with a bit of olive oil.
  • Place dough in a bowl and cover it.  Set it in a warm spot for 50 minutes

Meanwhile…

  • Slice 8 oz. crimini mushrooms
  • To a skillet, add 1 tablespoon butter or olive oil and mushrooms.  Cook until they are softened.
Sauteed mushrooms

Sauteed mushrooms

    • Shred the mozzarella cheese if you didn’t buy pre-shredded

    While the dough finishes rising, make a salad to accompany the Stromboli.

    To finish…

  • Place pizza stone in the oven and Preheat oven to 475 degrees
  • Divide dough into three pieces
This picture was taken before I had perfected this... divide into THREE pieces, not two :-)

This picture was taken before I had perfected this… divide into THREE pieces, not two 🙂

  • Roll or pat each piece into an 8×8 square
  • Spread 1 tablespoon of pizza sauce on the square, leaving ½ inch or so around the edges
  • On 1/2 of the square, layer
    • 1/3 cup of mozzarella cheese
    • 5-7 pepperoni slices
    • 1/3 of the sautéed mushrooms
    • 1/3 cup mozzarella cheese
  • Fold dough over and seal the edges well with a fork.  Poke a few holes in the top.

Place fully assembled Stromboli on a floured sheet (or you can use a bit of corn meal to keep the Stromboli from sticking to the pan).

When oven is heated, carefully place the Stromboli on the pizza stone.  If you don’t have a stone, you can pre-heat a cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Finished stromboli!!

Finished stromboli!!

That’s it!!  I know it sounds complicated, but it really isn’t!!  You can also use a dough mix to eliminate the rising time.  However… this dough is worth the time.  It is the softest dough I have ever worked with!!  You can also make a pizza using the dough recipe.

There you have it, Katie Gregg.  Let me know what you think!!!

4 Comments

  1. Katie said,

    I’m going to try this out on Sunday. I have a kitchen aid that’s been used maybe twice so I’m excited to have a reason to use it!! I’ll keep you posted 🙂

    • Melodye Olsavsky said,

      Katie, you will find that the dough is a dream to work with!!Good luck!! I am sure your darling hubby will be “T & A” (thrilled and amazed!!)

      • Kate said,

        My dough is rising right now as I type!!

  2. Enriqueta Trejo said,

    Hi Melodye!

    I love reading your blog. I mostly admire your strength and positive outlook. We used to chat on the TN website. I hope you are doing okay. I am doing a school paper on positive role models and I would love to include you. Please email me.
    enriquetatrejo4@yahoo.com

    Hope you have a great day!

    Ricky

Leave a Reply

