Tiramisu Cupcakes

April 26, 2015 at 9:26 am (Uncategorized)

I haven’t blogged for 8 months.  The reasons are varying and I will get into them later in another post (they include meds that didn’t react well with my brain’s outlook on life…).  I have been working on some mixed media pieces which people seem to be interested in buying.

The reason for this blog is I made some delicious tiramisu cupcakes yesterday and two people have asked me for the recipe so I thought I’d share the deliciousness with everyone!! I got the recipe from a Food Network magazine

Tiramisu cupcakes

Tiramisu Cupcakes

Preheat oven to 350. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with paper liners

Cupcake ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 heaping tsp expresso powder (I used instant)
  • 1 stick (8 tbsp) melted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

In a separate bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and expresso powder together.  In another bowl, whisk 1 stick melted butter, sugars, sour cream, eggs and vanilla until smooth. Whisk in the flour mixture just until combined.  Divide the batter among the muffin cups. Bake until the tops spring back. (18-20 minutes)

  • 1/4 cup brandy

Brush warm cupcakes with brandy.

Frosting

  • 1/2 stick softened butter
  • 4 oz softened cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup mascarpone cheese
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Beat butter, cheeses, vanilla,  pinch of salt with a mixer on medium speed until creamy (1-2 minutes). Gradually beat in 2 cups confectioners’ sugar on medium-low speed until smooth, then beat on medium high until thick and fluffy. (1-2 more minutes).

  •  cocoa powder

After you frost the cupcakes, dust the tops with cocoa powder

I did a few things differently.  In my oven, the cupcakes needed closer to 25 minutes for the tops to “spring back.”  I didn’t brush the brandy on the cupcakes.  I dipped the warm tops into the brandy (just like you do when you make Tiramisu). It made less of a mess.  I didn’t measure the mascarpone cheese, but used one whole small container.  I didn’t measure the xx sugar, just added enough until I like the consistency of the frosting.

There you have it!!!  One delicious recipe.  I promise you, the cupcakes taste like tiramisu, but without the labor-intensive process!!

I also am giving you a sneak peek of one of my mixed media pieces.  I will explain in another blog my inspiration (my Grandma Millie).  This piece is called “Find Strength for the Journey.”  I am going to have it professionally photographed before it goes to its new home 🙂

"Find Strength for the Journey"

“Find Strength for the Journey”

2 Comments

  1. Danielle said,

    These sound delish!

    I’m LOVING your mixed media. Every think about turning them into prints to sell on Etsy? I’d buy one!

    • Melodye Olsavsky said,

      Thanks Danielle! I am actually having four pieces professionally photographed this week with an eye to making prints. I don’t know how to take that next step but I’ll figure it out.:-)

Leave a Reply

