Zucchini Spice Cake

August 8, 2017 at 12:04 pm (Recipes)

So I made this amazing cake on Sunday.  Our sweet neighbor gave us some zucchini.  We love it grilled but there was ALOT of zucchini so I needed to find another use for it.  I just don’t like zucchini bread… not sure why but I don’t.  I was determined to find another recipe so I did what any computer-savy woman would do… I googled “recipes using zucchini.”

Cinnamon Zucchini Cake-2

I found a recipe on SixSistersStuff.com.  I made one rather big change for a very good reason.  Sunday was a “stay in my pajamas all day” day!!  The recipe calls for applesauce.  I had none.  So, in my PJ’s I drove down the lane to my Daddy and Momma’s.  They always have applesauce.  They had none!!  But, my Daddy is a brilliant man 🙂  He suggested apple butter!  Since I was making this cake for the first time, it was worth a try.  What a depth of flavor the apple butter added!!  I substituted 1 for 1. I also always use fresh grated nutmeg.   So… here’s the recipe:

Cinnamon Zucchini Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup apple butter (or applesauce)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini

                Frosting

  • 1 (8 oz) package cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9×13″ baking pan with non-stick cooking spray. I never just spray a pan anymore.  I lined the pan with non-stick aluminum foil, sprayed it.  (makes for easy removal, frosting, cutting, storing in plastic ware)
  2. Beat eggs, vegetable oil, apple butter, white sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla together in a large bowl. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg together, add to the wet batter and mix well. Fold in zucchini and stir until completely mixed in. Pour batter into prepared 9×13″ pan.
  3. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  4. Mix together frosting ingredients.
  5. Once the cake has cooled completely, remove from pan, using the aluminum foil as handles.  Frost the cake, cut into pieces.

 

1 Comment

  1. Danielle Jones said,

    I make a similar recipe and you’re right, it is SO good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

