Little Changes… Can Make a BIG Difference

May 11, 2014 at 1:50 pm (Jewelry, Musings...)

I am an empty-nester hermit whose darling hubby works long hours and I am okay with that!!  I’ve written before about my battles with MS, TN and social anxiety.  This latest battle,and a victory if I’m being honest, will make a big difference in my life.

Last week, my blogger friend, Tab, announced that she and her family would have an “unplugged, screen-free” week. (Tab, I miss you and will be glad when you are back).  That got me thinking… I have the television on during the day just for noise.  However, I’ve developed a bad habit, especially when I’m not feeling well. I fritter away good hours just watching mindless television (any Law and Order series and {{Yikes}} shopping channels).

Follow my logical thinking. If I only have a few good hours each day and I spend them watching television, I am not only wasting time, but I am not being a good steward of the days the Lord has given me.

So… I did my own version of “unplugged, screen-free.”  I did not turn the television on until 4:00 p.m. for Judge Judy.  I am usually preparing supper at that time and reasoned it was the natural line of demarcation for me.

What a difference it made!!  My week was filled with fabulous music, wonderful books and some real serious hours of creativity!!!

Instead of watching the Today Show as I drank my coffee and ate my greek yogurt, I opened my Bible, read some verses and spent time in prayer.  Instead of sitting and watching Live with Kelly & Michael, I did one load of laundry each day and spent 30 minutes in my kitchen, cleaning, sorting and organizing.  By the time Ellen came on, I was in my art studio, working on a Dooney & Burke inspired tote and bending wire and stringing beads.

Noon is the usual time my body starts falling apart. Instead of turning on the noon news or Law & Order, I had a good Paleo snack and closed my eyes for 20 minutes or so.  One of the days was very rough and I stayed lying down for a few hours, but I had my iPod set to shuffle and I enjoyed wonderful music as I dozed.  Two days, as the weather was beautiful, I took my walking stick for a walk through the back fields, came home and took a shower before starting supper.

Even as I write this, DannyO is at a call and, instead of watching TV, I am listening to music.

The week went so well that I am going to continue my version of  “unplugged – screen-free!”  Thanks Tab!!!

These are the projects I worked on this week…

The lining for my tote

The lining for my tote

Jewelry-1

A bracelet I designed for my Momma for Mother’s Day.

Jewelry-3

Earrings — these are pretty cool!!

Jewelry-4

“Marissa.” These are aptly named for my son’s girlfriend. They are a new design and I hope she likes them 🙂

This coming week, I hope to deep clean my bathroom and laundry room in those 30 minutes each morning.  Of course, if the Pirates are playing or there is a NASCAR race on, I may have to re-negotiate with myself.  I hope to finish my tote and work on a water color that I’ve had prepped for a few weeks.  I will also blog more because I am not squandering precious time.

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Catherine said,

    Nice projects! Unplugged sure can be a good thing! Have a great day!

  2. studerteam said,

    Melodye!! This is so awesome! I’m so glad you had a creative experience from Screen Free week – so did we! I am definitely counting it this year as a huge success over at our house. Not to say it wasn’t hard at times, but for the most part we also had an eye-opening and creatively charged week. So excited for you – and those earrings for B’s girlfriend – they are gorgeous. When will you open an etsy store?! 🙂 🙂

  3. Danielle said,

    That fabric is beautiful!

  4. Three Subjects, Starting with Tuesday-Shoesday | Melodyejoy's Weblog said,

    […] Weekday 12 of no daytime television.  I am on a roll!  This morning I went to the high school (Subject #3), came home, took a nap, planted my herbs, took another nap, am blogging and plan to start supper soon.  Last week I finished a bracelet for my sweet niece, Kristi Brinkli (Really!!  Her last name is Olsavsky). She liked it.  I am very happy with the finished product.  I used one of my wire-worked hearts. […]

Leave a comment